Skip to content

Jane Skeeter Wins Prestigious Fernando Award

  • by

The 64th annual Fernando Awards were held Friday night at the Skirball Center, and Jane Skeeter was named the 2022 Fernando Award winner.

The Fernando Award is the highest accolade in the San Fernando Valley, and is given to someone who exemplifies outstanding services to the community. 

Since 2007, Skeeter has been active with 15 organizations serving on the board of directors of business, health, youth and education related services. She has served on the Pierce College Architecture and Engineering Community Advisory Board, the LA Mayor’s Community Forestry Advisory Committee for LA Council District #3, the board of directors for the Valley Green Team, the LA Area Chamber of Commerce, the West Hills Hospital Board of Trustees, Valley Economic Alliance, NAWBO (National Association of Women Business Owners) Los Angeles Chapter, Woodbury University’s School of Business Advisory Board and the Boys and Girls Club of the West Valley.

She was nominated for the award by the Boys & Girls Club of the West Valley and Woodbury University.

Skeeter  was selected from five finalists, who were chosen from 16 total nominations submitted by valley organizations and nonprofits.

The other four finalists were Steve Fazio, President of Fazio Cleaners, Kathleen Sterling, Publisher of  Valley News Group, Kevin Tamaki of Tamaki Consulting and Sharon Udkoff, CPA.

“This year was exceptionally challenging with 16 impressive nominees,” said Jason Schaff and Marian Jocz, selection committee co-chairs.  “On behalf of the Fernando board of directors, we congratulate the five finalists and thank the members of the Finalist Selection Committee.”  Other selection committee members were Fred Gaines, David Honda, Sarah Horvet, Vahid Khorsand, Darnell Tyler and Marcella Tyler.  

The Fernando Award Foundation was founded in 1958 and is a 501(c)3, tax-exempt community organization. The Fernando Award is considered the highest award presented for volunteer leadership and philanthropy in the San Fernando Valley. Since its first award gala held in 1958, 62 community and business leaders have been named Fernando recipients. 

The 2022 Fernando board members include: Paul Davis, Tamara Gurney, David Honda, Marian Jocz, Rojean Kashanchi, Mark Levinson, Pegi Matsuda, Bruce Miller, Walter Mosher, Mike Quiroga, Diana Sanchez, Jason Schaff, Dale Surowitz and Mark Villasenor.

Looking to pickup a copy of our latest issue?

Click here for a list of locations

  • 1-818-313-9545
  • 1-818-302-1417

24 hours ago

Valley News Group
Calabasas resident Erick Oved Estrada is being held without bail this week for his alleged part in the fentanyl overdose of teenage TikTok star, Cooper Noriega.Details at #calabasasenterprise #fentanyloverdose ... See MoreSee Less
View on Facebook

  • DBA Filings
  • Business Directory
  • Ad Rates
  • Contact Us